1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Why Not Tabs?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by michaelkoss, Aug 25, 2011.

1. I see a number of responses to threads that belittle tabs. As a newbie, I couldn't live without tabs. I know I need to learn to read music and more importantly, listen by ear and play. But at this point, I can do neither. If it weren't for tabs, I'd be stuck playing scales instead of the few songs I've learned. I'm running scales too, but I feel it's important to also practice playing in time to a song.

So my question is, why all the hate for tabs?

2. jmattbassplaya

jmattbassplaya Looking for a gig around East Islip, NY!

Jan 13, 2008
    Tabs act as a crutch. You can honestly get by just by using tabs, but you'll never become a great bassist until you have an ear and tabs act as an excuse not to practice your ear.

3. Sam Dingle

Sam Dingle Supporting Member

Aug 16, 2011
    Tallahassee
    i do not hate tabs. i am like you, or was like you. i have been playing bass for 4 years (wow its gone fast) and for my first year i played using only tabs. didn't know the notes on the fretboard, didn't know any scales, had no idea what a chord was or anything. just played tabs. then my second year i got a new teacher and learned a few scales and the notes on the neck. the past 2 years i have been reading music and learning advanced scales and am still learning. i think that tabs are great for people like me because it got me interested in playing bass. i was excited when i could play the song iron man or some other thing i was listening to. so my view is its good to start off but if you want to be a pro you need to slowly move away from them.

4. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2008
    Central Illinois, USA