1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Why rest your thumb on a pickup?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by WarMan, Mar 8, 2008.

1. WarMan

WarMan

Feb 18, 2008
    Plano, Texas
    When I started playing bass I was convinced like many that you are supposed to rest your thumb on the pickup. I had a Warwick Corvette. I always found it hard to reach the G string. My fingers had to cover a lot of space. When I first got a Sterling I got stressed out because my first one didn't have a neck pickup and trying to play the strings between the bridge pickup and the bridge were like plucking piano strings. Someone suggested resting my thumb on the E string and moving it up when I needed to play the E string. It sounded difficult, but it took me minutes to learn and became natural very quickly. When you test your thumb on the E string you only have to stretch three strings to the G string. You have to stretch four strings when you rest on the pickup. In addition, you automatically mute the E string when you rest your thumb on it.

In the past I didn't like playing a P Base because the adjusting screw was on the top of the pickup where I thought I had to rest my thumb. I ended up returning the single pickup Sterling for the Sterling HS. But I kept using a floating thumb technique. I now find it very easy to shift between basses regardless of the pickup placement. A Stingray and P Bass are no more difficult than my Sterling HS and Warwick Thumb.

I highly suggest transitioning to this technique if you are currently using the pickup as a thumb rest. It makes things easier.

2. Nick Kay

Nick Kay

Jul 26, 2007
    Toronto, Ontario
    Or you could go a step further and use the completely floating thumb technique. Check out the thread in the Technique forum.