Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Why Scales?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Dot Your Eyes, Aug 29, 2005.

1. Dot Your Eyes

Dot Your Eyes

Aug 27, 2005
    I know there is more to scales than just an easy, non-musical finger exercises, but every book I've read so far gives the pattern for a scale and basically says "scales are good, learn scales". So, I learn the patterns to a few popular scales and that's it. I find them to sound pretty ugly, and most to be pretty technically easy to do (and I'm a beginner...). So why? Can anyone give me a practical reason as to the significance of these patterns? How do I apply them musically? I've looked everywhere on the net and in books, but can't seem to get an answer to that seemingly very basic question.

HELP!

2. dlloyd

dlloyd zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Apr 21, 2004
    Scotland
    Scales and arpeggios are the basis of music. Sure, they sound dull by theirselves, but you're training your mind and hands to play interesting stuff.

3. It'll help alot when someone tells you to walk a line "in key".

:smug:

4. Pruitt

Pruitt

Jun 30, 2005
    Danbury, CT
    It'll make more sense to you if you research the relationship between scales/arpeggios and chord structure.

Simply put, if you're playing with others and your guitarist/keyboardist is playing certain chords, the bass lines that work best under those particular chords are created from the scales/arpeggios based on those chords. If you don't know your scales/arpeggios, than you're never really going to know what to play to certain chords (except mindlessly playing the chord root note). ;)

Best of Luck and Have Fun! :bassist:

5. Phil Smith

Phil Smith Mr Sumisu 2 U

May 30, 2000
    Peoples Republic of Brooklyn
    Creator of: iGigBook for Android/iOS