1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Why string through the body

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by LarsLockwood, Feb 27, 2008.

1. LarsLockwood

LarsLockwood Guest

Jan 23, 2008
    I am a newbie so please don't beat me up if this was already posted or should go under a different topic. I searched but did not find any info in past postings.

My bass has the option of threading the strings through the body. I am wondering what the advantage of this is. My bass is a 5 string and has a 35" scale so my options are already limited when buying strings. Threading them through the body requires extra long strings and limits my choices even more. I purchased my bass used and the guy I got it from had the B,E,A strings starting at the bridge and the D, and G threaded through the body. This confuses me. If there is a valid reason to do one or the other, why would you do both at the same time? Did he have it set up in a weird way? He put new strings on it before I bought it and I kind of got the impression he did that just to show that it has the option. He seemed to think it looked cool or something. I don't know if this info matters but my bass is a Lakland 5501D. So, what do you think?

2. MyUsernameHere

MyUsernameHere ?????????????

Nov 3, 2007
    Lexington KY
    Supposedly, string through body increases sustain. This might (or might not...who knows) have been true to an extent with some old school basses with exceptionally crappy bridges, but for your Lakland it won't do anything at all except make string changes more of a pain in the butt.

If you end up wanting to do the string through body thing DR Strings should work fine and IMO Hi Beams sound great on a 01.

3. saxofunk

saxofunk

Jul 25, 2006
    Tulsa, OK
  4. El-Bob

El-Bob Supporting Member

Oct 22, 2006
    Hamilton, ON