Why the Bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Jemma, Feb 22, 2004.

1. Jemma

Feb 22, 2004
    Hello everyone,

I really need a hobbie so I decided to start playing an insturment. I am having a hard time deciding between a guitar or a bass.

So I am wondering why did you guys start playing a bass over a guitar? I doubt I will join a band but what ever happens, happens, so I am also wondering if you can have as much fun playing solo with a bass as you can with a guitar.

Thanks in advance for all the info.
  2. Don't choose what we think and how we feel. Try both out...and find out which you like more. Alot of bassist play guitar also,and vice versa.

Well,good luck...I think taking up an instrument as a hobbie is a great idea :bassist:
  3. ThunderBoomer

Feb 22, 2004
    I started playing bass because everyone I know played guitar and they wanted someone who would play bass with them. Too many idiots think playing the bass is somehow a demotion from playing the guitar, which is the "glamor instrument" or some other dumb stuff.

I play guitar too now but bass was first and I still wind up playing mostly bass at jam sessions for the same reason - most of the players I know are shredheads or wannabe shredheads and they need a bass player.
  4. SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    I may get flamed for this, but IMO, no, you cannot. Bass as a non-ensemble instrument is hard. Composing music solely with a bass is hard.

Now, I know a bunch of people will jump in with "Jaco composed entire album's worth of material, and so did Michael Manring, etc..." And that's awesome. Someone has to do it. But I gotta tell ya, if you're going to be sitting in your room by yourself, you'll find guitar is easier to write on.

Which will you find more satisfying? Beats me. If you have some deep-seeded personal quest to learn bass and nothing but bass, go for it.