why use a zero fret ?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Blues Daddy, Sep 2, 2020.

1. Blues Daddy

Blues Daddy

Jul 1, 2016
    So, I'm curious about an instrument with a 'zero fret'. I've seen them for years and more often on non-bass instruments (acoustic guitars and mandolins . . . in fact, I have a very playable mando hanging on my wall with a zero fret that's a full 6mm from the nut)

20200902_130024.jpg

I've always assumed that the purpose for using a zero fret was because for some reason the design of the fretboard and placement of the nut was not accurate for the actual proper scale of the instrument (string length to the bridge) ... and/or it was easier to make the scale accurate by adding a zero fret where the nut would otherwise be (???). Not being a luthier myself, I recognize that my "guess" may be missing the mark (so to speak) about how and when a zero fret is built into the design of an instrument. In my own observations/experience it has appeared mostly on 'off brand' instruments and not seen typically on big name brands.

I saw an add for a bass on CL that included the following line in the description: "Neck is straight as an arrow, low action with no buzz, and has perfect intonation due to the zero fret design." So, I'm wondering if there is a distinct advantage to using a zero fret (to achieve consistent perfect intonation) verses a build design that relies instead on the nut-to-bridge string length like all of my Fender, Gibson, Epiphone, and G&L instruments do?

The zero fret on this bass appears to be touching the nut and may actually be lower in height than the nut (?) Here are some pics and specs (and an audio link! - pretty good ad):

zerofret.jpg
    bass.jpg