1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Why would anyone play a bass shorter than 35" scale?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bobdabilder, Nov 30, 2018.

1. I'm serious about this. I see lots of threads about is it OK to play a 35 scale but never any from the other perspective. Maybe it's because I only started playing bass 6 years ago in my mid-somethings and started on a ibanez, maybe it's because I don't get tennis elbow if I play anything longer than a 30" scale on a regular basis, or maybe it's because I'm not a lead singer and don't have to try to play everything without looking down (as best I can LOL!). But I don't get it... why would anyone handicap themselves by playing a bass that is shorter than necessary.
    35 scales are easier to play no question. I don't think that's even worth debating. The selection of 35s is better than ever (and there should be more...). String selection is no longer a problem and tension issues can be resolved with the right strings (again it could still be better and will be once everyone switches to 35 scale :)). Tone is pretty subjective and for God's sake, most personal preferences can be solved by string choices and amp settings.
    So why do you guys play <35"s? Do you like clubbing your lead guitarist and/or singer in the head? Are you challenged by the shorter scale? Is it an image thing? Is it tone? Is it Machisomo?
    I used to think it was an image thing, but in the 100+ shows I've played with 35 scales not one person has ever said 'hey... your bass is too long'. In fact when I tell people I play a 35 scale, they are totally mystified by what I am saying.
    So why are you still playing a <35" bass?

Jaco Taco, MakoMan, Jim Carr and 27 others like this.
  2. Geri O

Geri O Supporting Member

Sep 6, 2013
    Florence, MS
    What a sport!!

You done good...:D

Ellery and bobdabilder like this.