Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Wich song you first learned?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by borden, Feb 22, 2006.

1. I am fairly new to bass playing and i was wondering if you, new or experimented, bass players remember the first song you learned/practice.

I have no clue why i think about that but i tought i'd ask.

As for me, first song was PennyWise - Brohymn (i'm just 23 years old so it's in my ageframe) I decided to buy a bass because i needed some time for myself after hard treeplanting days. I learned that song cuz a treeplanter friend of mine died in a car accident 2 months before and i could think about him while playing that simple song.

I'm very curious, share your introduction to bass guitar to us!

2. blitzkrieg bop by the ramones was the first song i ever learned on my friends bass before i got my own.

i learned brohymn as well right when i started out, it was one of the first 10 songs i learned.

3. "The Star Spangled Banner", is the first complete song I learned.

4. speigel

speigel

Aug 5, 2005
    Somerset, UK
    Sunshine of your love by Cream

5. Baryonyx

Baryonyx Banned

Jul 11, 2005
    Marathon Man
    FBI by The Shadows. It was a real toughie, since it's built on the open E note and a hammered 5 fret A note on the E string. It doesn't sound too hard, it's a walkover now, but when I started the moderate a fairly complex rhythm threw me right off!

6. Pickslide

Pickslide

Oct 29, 2005
    Cleveland, OH
    It's My Life by The Animals

7. A very simplified version of "Iron Man" by Black Sabbath

8. Manol

Manol Too Sexy To Be Left Handed.

Oct 9, 2005
    Melbourne, Australia
    Pearl Jam - WMA.

9. kdogg

kdogg

Nov 13, 2005
    Ohio
    "Nothing Else Matters" by Metallica. Don't ask me why, but I just love that tune. :hyper:

10. BassChuck

BassChuck

Nov 15, 2005
    Cincinnati