1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Wierd things with my WT800

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by JacksonsMen, Feb 25, 2008.

1. Alright so the other day i finally got the new to me WT800 out and gigging. For those not familiar its two power sections you can run either Hi/Lo , Bridged, or just run one side. For this instance i was running just the "Lo" side, i believe, but the crossover was off so it was getting the full signal.

Here's the weird thing. while i was playing i noticed the preamp clip light flashing as im used to seeing, but i started noticing the "output limit" lights flash too, now im new to eden heads but i assumed this was normal, kind of the same as seeing the preamp clip light, as long as it only flashes a bit and doesnt stay steady glowing then its ok, well then the sound turned to crap. sounded like a speaker going out and thats what i thought it was. i switched to the SWR amp in my rack and the sound was clean, switched to the other side of the eden head and it was clean again, and later that night tested the original side and the sound was clean:confused::confused::confused:

is it possible that the power amp just got a little over heated and broke up but then cooled back down? does anyone have a clue what i'm talking about?

sorry for the length, any help or input is appriciated

2. murphy

murphy

May 5, 2004
    Toronto, Canada
    Was the speaker correctly wired to the amp?just plugged in one side....not the bridge output?
    Was the balance turned full to the side you were using?
    Was the compressor engaging too much....distorting?
    Was the enhance turned down below a quater ? or off
    Do not engage the EQ knobs, especially bass boost beyond 1 or 2 clicks past 12 oclock
    Is your speaker 4 ohms? loud enough.
    It is better to bridge that amp for best volume output.