Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

will 2x112 cabs be enough for a big gig?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by matito, Jan 24, 2006.

1. i have a ashdown abm500 evoII head and eden D112XLT cab

i was after portability at the time and wasn't expecting to do any decent sized gigs for a while.

but now i got a outdoor gig, i'm guessing there will have to be a PA setup, the guys in my band still haven't got full details yet..

but now i'm thinking i might get a 2nd 112 cab now.
    but its come across my mind maybe i was better off geting a 410?

so will a 2x112 cabs be fine for most gigs and virtually do the job of a 410 in loudness?

may seem like stupid questions, but i'm a newbie in the bass world. and deciding if i should just get another 112 or buy a 410 cab to use for big gigs and keep the 112 for smaller gigs. that would cost me a bit more though :(
    thanks

2. brothernewt

brothernewt Some people call me the stormtrooper of love...

Apr 13, 2004
    Happyrock, OR
    I think that depends on a variety of other things.
    My Eden 212xlt is not quite loud enough for my band, but it's only 8 Ohms (so I'm not getting full use of the amp) and we're too damned loud. For most bands (other than hard rock, big drums, 2 guitars) it would be fine... (and shamefully sounds a bit better than the 4 Ohm 4x10 cab I actually use).

3. jdlwareagle

jdlwareagle

Nov 13, 2005
    Mobile , AL
    Another option to consider ... if other bands are on the show , contact their bass player and see if you could use your head and their cab . Or rent a cab for the show . If you only occasionally do big outdoor shows that require more/bigger cabs , save your money . ;)

4. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather

I would think so! Years ago we mostly used 2x15 type cabs and that was fine! Why not 2 1x12's? Speakers are so much more efficient today than back then!