1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Will a better bass make you a better bassist?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by whitedk57, Nov 1, 2006.

1. whitedk57

whitedk57

May 5, 2005
    Franklin, NC
    I am getting my dream bass on Friday. Is there anybody here who became more inspired and practiced more because of their new axe.

2. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    My first good bass made a world of difference for me. My first bass had a terrible neck, and a pitiful two piece bridge. It was impossible to set it up for slap and it just didn't sound very good. A good instrument is no subsitute for practicing, and learning, but it sure makes it easier.

3. To be honest, when i used to play my MIM Jazz bass i was an average player, just doing what i needed to get by. The day i got my Rickenbacker i started playing exactly like Geddy Lee and acquired a vast knowldge of musical theory just by touching this bass.

The answer is no though.

4. ArwinH

ArwinH run rabbit run

Dec 1, 2005
    Southern California
    A new bass can make you play a different way, can help your refine your technique, and inspire you to practice more, but alot of that is down to practice. If you are dedicated and dischplined a new instrument can HELP you improve.

I feel this ideal is mroe applicable to classical instruments, I know that when I moved up to a more playable double bass it made me a better player, no more harsh clack, unsightly intonation issues, or uneven response on different areas of the neck, less buzz and rattle, etc.

5. dirtgroove

dirtgroove

Jan 10, 2003
    Taipei, Taiwan
    It depends on the person but it did to me.
    There's nothing quite like a bass/guitar you just love playing.