Will a new bass crack as easily as an old bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Michael Case, Jun 7, 2002.

1. Hello all,
    This is my first post on the site, I have been playing DB for 2 years now. I own a Strunal with a carved top and plywood sides and back. I would say it's about a year and a half old now and is holding up well.
    Anyway, I have been reading alot about the effects of weather on the bass and I'm starting to get a little nervous. Last summer my bass survived with no noticeable damage. Is this because it's new? Or is it the 17 coats of varnish they put on the bass? I live in NYC and the humidity gets a little nutty, I am using a dehumidifier to keep the level at 50-55%. When I go out I use a dampit.
    Thank you for your time and answers. :D
  2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    I'm in Brooklyn and have the same weather as you.

With hot water heat, as opposed to forced air like we have back home, I haven't been using any humidity aids at all in the winter as it stays in the 60-65% range in my apartment. I don't think too much humidity is as much a problem as too little. Dry wood likes to crack. If you moved to Brasil or somewhere like that, you'd probably want to pop the top to allow for expansion, but I don't think that you'll have a problem here. When I got my bass (new Italian from Naples), Shank popped the top to allow for the lack of humidity that we have in the NE USA compared to Mediteranian Italy. Sudden hanges in humidity and temperature can cause problems, so don't let it get too hot, and if you get it really hot or cold, let it sit for a while until it's not too far from room temperature before opening the bag.

One of our resident luthiers might want to pipe in here, but I think I'm pretty close.
  3. Thanks for your reply. My next question is, what do you mean when you say "pop the top?"
  4. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001