Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Will distortion from pedal hurt my speakers?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by shmedly, Jun 14, 2002.

1. I have a new Fulltone Bassdrive pedal and I'm wondering if it will hurt my speakers when I use it. My setup is: Aguilar DB 750, Aguilar 4-10, Epifani 2-12, Fender P-bass Deluxe.

I love my setup but up until now, I've played only clean and punchy. I recently started playing in a harder edged band and want to introduce a grittier, more distorted tone but am worried that it will hurt my speakers. Obviously, my cabinets aren't cheap and I don't want to find myself reconing speakers.

What does everyone think? Am I worried for no reason?

2. Nick man

Nick man

Apr 7, 2002
    Tampa Bay
    Yes and no.

It depends on how you set the pedal. The different sounds that come froma distorted signal put more stress on speakers taht a clean sound.

Also be careful about how much the signal is boosted when the distortion is switched on.

If you are careful and setup the pedal wisely, you will have no problems. I use 2 distortion pedals (plus chorus, flanger, and EQ), and my speakers are fine.

Peace
    Nick

3. Bob Lee (QSC)

Bob Lee (QSC) In case you missed it, I work for QSC Audio! Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Jul 3, 2001
    Costa Mesa, Calif.
    Technical Communications Developer, QSC Audio
    The distortion itself won't hurt your speakers. Too much power into them will.

4. jerry

jerry Doesn't know BDO Gold Supporting Member

Dec 13, 1999
    Hawaii
    You might want to turn your tweeters down a little,
    distortion can be a little harsh with tweeters.

5. jokerjkny

jokerjkny

Jan 19, 2002
    NY / NJ / PA
    in other words, nope!