Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

will I see a difference if I change bows

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by dennison, Feb 2, 2005.

1. Hello all,

I have been playing out of simandl for around 7 months. I have a fully carved roma bass and a cheapie fiberglass bow that came with it. I have read some posts about how not to skimp on buying a bow. Is it time to buy a decent one? What kind of difference will a novice like me notice?

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    In a word: a lot.

Do you have a teacher? Ths would be the best place to start. The next fall back is to go to the luthier and ask to mess around with his bows (take your bass). Give each bow some time so that you can really get a feel for it. Once you have picked a few bows you like, ask about prices. Then go through them again. :)

If you can't find anything in your price range, them go home empty-handed and keep looking and saving your sheckels.

3. Pete G

Pete G

Dec 31, 2001
    Northern Virginia
    What Ray said.

In my opinion, the bow is half the equation in getting a good arco sound.

Since good to great bows are MUCH cheaper than good to great basses, it makes sense to me to get the best bow possible as early in one's playing career as possible.

But you be the judge -- do as Ray says and try out some better bows on your bass. There are plenty of good bows available in the $400 to $800 range, and I'd be stunned if you didn't notice a big difference from your fiberglass bow.

If you need tips on where to find a bow, check the other threads or post again.

4. Pete G

Pete G

Dec 31, 2001
    Northern Virginia