Will it help to play drums?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Joe Garage, Sep 20, 2005.

1. Joe Garage

Joe Garage

Mar 13, 2005
    Will learning to play drums improve my sense of natural rythm and time keeping on the bass? Since both the bass and drums are part of keeping time, is it important for a bassplayer to also be a steady drummer?
  2. Vorago

Vorago (((o)))

Jul 17, 2003
    Antwerp, Belgium
    It comes in hand, but I don't think it's a nececity (sp).
  3. I have been playing bass for the last four years and playing drums or about two. The understanding of drums has helped me to stay in sync with my drummer and understand his thinking. Plus, jaco was a drummer.... where can you go wrong.

i think it is more important to understand drums and rhythm than to be able to physically play drums.

also, dont get caught up in practicing drums so much that you play less bass. drums are an additive not a substitution.
  4. Joe Garage

Joe Garage

Mar 13, 2005
    Thanks for your replies! I guess it’s because I knew Jaco was a good drummer as well as a bass player, is why I got the idea in the first place. I know pretty well how the drums work, since I’ve been programming drums for many years now, so I guess I will continue to work along the metronome.
  5. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

Bassist Billy SHeehan says playing drums and especially frequent practice witha drummer will make you be a better bassist because you will have a better understanding of timing and groove.

I took lessons in drumming for six months obediently following Sheehan's advice. What I discovered for myself is that I needed to spend so much time practicing the drums that I was cutting into my bass practice. I did not come easily by the independence of hands and feet needed for a drum kit, high hat, bass drum, snare, cymbols.