1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Will Re-magnetizing a vintage pick improve low end?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by ampegfuzz, Jan 4, 2017.

1. ampegfuzz

ampegfuzz Supporting Member

Feb 13, 2007
    Davenport, IA
    I have a vintage 74 P bass that has a healthy 10.5k pup but lacks some lows. Would re-magnetizing help?

2. Snaxster

Snaxster

Nov 29, 2008
    Hello. Though I am not an expert, I would say no, that won't help. Pending any expert opinions, this:

What is the body wood in this instrument?

Did you try adjusting the pickup height?

Were the low frequencies there previously and now are diminished?

3. ampegfuzz

Feb 13, 2007
    Davenport, IA
    It's a ash/maple 1974 p bass. I have played with string height. Lows where never their but The bass is older then I. People have been in the guts already so I wasn't scared to swap pickups. I put in a dimarzio and it was to flubby in the mids but had the lows. Then I installed a lollar and it had lows but kinda dull in the highs. The stock pickup seems weak and is light on low end. But I didn't figure that should be the case with the meter reading 10.5k. If it was just a bit stronger with a tad more lows it would be perfect. And it's something I can't really eq with a amp.

4. JGbassman

JGbassman Supporting Member

May 31, 2011
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    You might check out Prima Guitars. They make custom hand wound pickups to the specs you want, for a very reasonable price. I'd say give them a call, tell them what you are wanting and let them recommend something.

I've not used any of their split coil pickups, but I am absolutely sold on a custom wound '51 single coil I just put in a '55 replica P bass I built from parts. I had another pickup in it from a reputable main brand builder, and it just lacked any character. Middy but no warmth or punch.