1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

Will they work together?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Donald Wormuth, Mar 4, 2021.

1. I'm new to all this. I've only ever had combo amps. Apparently I had an impede BA 115 HP 210 watts. Which doesn't work for playing the music style I play. I need smaller speakers for the attack I need.
    Ok, I'm looking for just a small bass head and cabinet. Well what I found is a Hartke 410 300 watt at 8ohns. And a Peavey century series 120 which is 100 wstt8 at 4ohms. Will they work together what will be the would be the output?

EatS1stBassist likes this.
  2. shoot-r

shoot-r

May 26, 2007
    Illinois
    The cab (if in decent condition, original drivers, ect.) is a good cabinet.

I'd recommend a higher powered head though, something in the 200 to 300 or even 500 at 4 ohms watt range.
    Watch the T.B. Classifieds, for say a used G.K.MB-500, that'll give you 350 watts at 8 ohms, 500 at 4 ohms.

If memory serves, the Peavey Century is 120 watts at 4 ohms (?), so that would mean into that 8 ohm Hartke 410 you'd get around half that power, say 60 to 70 watts.
    If your wanting any clean low end at volume you'll need more head room.

The "rough" rule of thumb, whatever the amps 4 ohm watt rating is, you'll get half or maybe a little more at 8 ohms.

Last edited: Mar 4, 2021
  3. That's what I thought. but I didn't think you would drop it all the way down to one third. I thought it'd be cut in half. Okay thank you

4. Ok I have Ampeg ba 1:15 HP