Willy ou get used to using your finger instead a of a pick?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by fender_bassist1, Nov 23, 2004.

1. fender_bassist1

Nov 23, 2004
    I am a new bassist and i am wondering if I should use a pick for my first couple of weeks or should i start finger picking immeadeitly?Does finge rpicking get easier as you do it more often?

2. TOOL460002

TOOL460002 Supporting Member

Nov 4, 2004
    Santa Cruz CA
    im rediculously biased- since i hate picks with a passion (my fore-finger and thumb can outdo any pick on speed, easy).

anyway- dont use a pick. start fingers only. later you can integrate finger style- 2-3 fingers with double thumbing or LG picking, or right hand tapping or slap or false harmonics. its so helpful not to have a pick in hand. dont start and you wont have to switch over when youve had that ingrained for years.
  3. De Teng

De Teng

Oct 27, 2003
    Utrecht, Holland
    Can't add anything else.... just DON'T... it serves you right in the end.
  4. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Start with fingers, add pick later for versatility.
  5. wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    Are you coming from playing guitar or some other instrument that (often) uses a pick? If so, there might be some benefit in getting going with a pick but otherwise I'd echo JMX and say get the finger thing down first.

6. screwball

Jul 25, 2004
    Manchester UK
  7. +2
  8. cowsgomoo

cowsgomoo gone to Longstanton Spice Museum

Feb 8, 2003
    your strings are just vibrating metal in a magnetic field... hell, hit your strings with a chicken leg if that's what feels and sounds good to you :)

but however you intend to play, you should probably start doing it that way as soon as possible - and like anything, the more you do it, the easier it becomes... sounds like you intend to play predominantly fingerstyle... so in your case, ditch the pick and get on with it