1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Wine tips and Napa

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by crow01, Mar 27, 2009.

1. crow01

crow01

Sep 1, 2008
    chicago
    I would like to share my own experiences with you TB people about wine.

I also searched for that wine thread but couldn't find it either. There are way too many threads. Or ask the OP to bump it up.

(I worked in the wine industry for a little bit. I had drank lots of wine, but I am not a sommelier. So this is just my own opinion)

1. Watch the movie Sideways
    2. Buy the book Wine Bible
    3. Go to a couple of wine tasting and do the same they do in Sideways, and do it with confidence like if you were an expert.
    4. Go to Napa
    5. Go to France

1. So basically, as they show in that movie:
    - Have white wine with fish and chicken
    - Have red wine with beef and lamb
    - Raise the wine so you can see it against the light, and tilt it to see, its maturity.
    - Swirl the wine to "open it".
    - Dive your nose into the glass and smell
    - Then take a sip, and play with it in your mouth
    - Then smell it again. Can you guess the region and temperature where they picked the grapes? Can you smell that edamame cheese?

2. Maybe you need to watch the movie and also read a lot. The "wine bible" is a good start. Then start drinking a lot of wine until you gain like 50 pounds. Oh yeah, wine makes you fat.

- Do the same every time you open a bottle of wine. Raise,swirl,dive,smell, etc.
    - Read the label of the bottle, it should say "it smells like.., or tastes like..." And see if you can get the same.
    - Then you can learn about the different types of grapes, regions, how they make wine, etc. Then watch sideways again, and you will start getting it.

3. Go to some wine tastings:
    - Lookup a wine bar