1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Winter 2017 Build-Off: Project 2

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by rojo412, Dec 23, 2016.

1. rojo412

rojo412 MARK IT ZERO! Supporting Member

Feb 26, 2000
    Cleveland, OH.
    First off, gotta say, this is my first time entering into this. I just recently finished the one bass and was hooked on this process immediately. I love watching these build off threads, you all inspire and teach me, so it's really exciting for me to actually participate.

So yeah, what timing! I was starting to plan my winter build anyway, so this is awesome.

PROJECT 2

The name will likely change. I just keep calling it Project 2 because it's my second build ever. But there is a thought of trying to build 2 basses at once, so it may end up reflecting that.

DIFFERENCES/NEW CHALLENGES

This bass will be much more complex than the first when it comes to construction.
    - Multi-laminate woods (maple, sapele, walnut)
    - Chambered body for lightweight
    - Headstock (my first was headless)
    - Much more tools!
    - 5 string
    - multi-wood neck

PLAN
    So far, I have the following specs in mind:
    - Flame maple top and back over a sapele core, chambered
    - Birdseye neck, rosewood board
    - 5 String, 33.5" scale, 24 frets, bolt on
    - Hipshot hardware
    - Nordy pickups
    - 18mm spacing, passive, 1.75" nut width, zero fret
    - Nickel frets (stainless was hard!)
    - Passive, Nordy 2B or Audere, not sure yet

Here's a rough sketch (with ideas for chamber areas):

IMG_3351.JPG

And I just got a band saw big enough to do resaw work with, so I've started splitting some tops. Here's one that came out pretty nice:

IMG_3375.JPG