1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Winter 2017 Build-off - Wing bass

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Jisch, Dec 23, 2016.

1. I'm putting this up here even though my build won't start for another few weeks, maybe a month.

The plan is:
    - Four string "Wing Bass"* (similar to this)
    - headless* (never FINISHED a headless bass - I've attempted one before)
    - super short scale*
    - Fretless
    - one piece of wood for the whole instrument (or one piece laminated front to back)*
    - passive*
    * denotes something I've never done before.

I'm using the Wing Bass linked above only for scale length - the body design will be 100% my own. I plan on using a piece of self-harvested and dried black walnut for the body.

I'll update once I get started.

2. Beej

Beej

Feb 10, 2007
    Victoria, BC
    Very interesting indeed. These things are intriguing...

3. charlie monroe

charlie monroe Gold Supporting Member

Feb 14, 2011
    Buffalo, NY
    This sounds like a fun build

4. I have everything we saved from the house in our shed, it's pretty densely packed, the wood is on the bottom and in the back of the pile. I went there today to get my snowblower and figured I'd look for a particular piece of wood I had in mind for this project. Surprisingly it was right on top of the wood and at the very end of the pile so it was easily retrieved - it's a sign!

So here's the piece of wood I'll use for the wing bass, I think.
    20161226_152021_zps2j9yatdw.

DEMS854, Bigbri, Deep Cat and 9 others like this.
  5. Beej

Beej

Feb 10, 2007
    Victoria, BC
    Beautiful!

6. charlie monroe

charlie monroe Gold Supporting Member

Feb 14, 2011
    Buffalo, NY
    That walnut crotch makes for an inspired design choice.
    This will be very nice.