1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Winter Break Storage

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by NickO417, Dec 2, 2019 at 10:28 AM.

1. NickO417

NickO417

Monday
    Hello everyone, first post here but frequent user of the site. I am a college student about to go on break with my Eastman Hybrid bass. This will be my first winter with it so I want to make sure when I take it to my home it will be safe. My main issue is home is an old apartment with no AC or heat, only floorboard heating. I can solve the humidity issue easily with a humidifier, but I am scared that not being able to maintain a constant temperature may affect my instrument. Is there anything else I should be doing to protect my DB or am I just overconcerned?

2. dhergert

dhergert Gold Supporting Member

Jan 17, 2018
    Blue Zone, California
    Not knowing where you live, it's hard to guess what the temperature range will be there. Can you give us a little more information?

3. NickO417

NickO417

Monday
    Sorry about that, I live around Boone NC in the Appalachian Mountains.

dhergert and unbrokenchain like this.
  4. dhergert

dhergert Gold Supporting Member

Jan 17, 2018
    Blue Zone, California
    @unbrokenchain , it sounds like you've had some similar home situations in that general area. Can you share your DB experiences with hot/cold, humid/dry weather?

Last edited: Dec 2, 2019 at 11:22 AM
    unbrokenchain likes this.
  5. AGCurry

AGCurry Supporting Member

Jun 29, 2005
    St. Louis
    Your goal, other than to keep the humidity > 30%, is to prevent sudden temperature change. Keep the bass away from the baseboard heating elements. Keeping it in its bag will also slow down temp change.

unbrokenchain and NickO417 like this.
  6. A new hybrid should be pretty stable. Floorboard heat is better than forced air for the bass, but, really nasty for sleeping!!!