1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Wiring Problems

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Diablo666Bass, Feb 21, 2008.

1. Diablo666Bass

Diablo666Bass

Oct 24, 2006
    i am new to wiring in general. i have never done any pickup wiring before, i've only done easy stuff like re-solder.

i have 3-pickups, MM, P, J. each have only 2 wires. i need to wire a volume pot, on/off switch for each pickup, pre-amp (treble pot and bass pot), passive/active switch, and a 18v power supply.

i'm going to use Aguilar OBP-1 Pre-Amp.
    http://www.aguilaramp.com/products_preamps_obp1.htm
    http://www.aguilaramp.com/pdf/support_wiring_obp1.pdf

i made the schematic for everything, except the active/passive switch. where do i put that?

http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g196/diablo666bass/Wiring.jpg

2. Diablo666Bass

Diablo666Bass

Oct 24, 2006
    any suggestions?

3. WOW!
    You don't like to make it easy for people do you. ..... Take it to a repair guy and pay the $$$ he wants and do it right the first time. ...... Or, scrap the 5-way and get a pan pot. ...... The MM P and J are two double coil pickups and a single coil that combo sounds like trouble. Or is the J-bass a double coil also?
    BM

4. robert43

robert43

Jun 5, 2007
    Australia
    Yes give the 5 way switch the flick what about 3 toggle switch to turn on the pickups as you want with the combos

5. Diablo666Bass

Diablo666Bass

Oct 24, 2006
    that actually sounds like a good idea, having each pickup on an on/off switch. would someone be able to make a schematic for that?

6. robert43

robert43

Jun 5, 2007
    Australia
  7. robert43

robert43

Jun 5, 2007
    Australia
    I just saw you are going to use active circuit but you can adapt this to the active part

8. Diablo666Bass

Diablo666Bass

Oct 24, 2006
    thanks, this actually helps a lot

9. Diablo666Bass

Diablo666Bass