Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Wiring

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by stuttleif, Mar 17, 2004.

1. stuttleif

stuttleif

Dec 30, 2003
    Ok, I admit it: I'm a newbie regarding electronics. I have tried to search the forums and the web but I still haven't found what I'm looking for (ta-daa!). Here's my case:

I have a '78 precision bass with the original pickup and an extra jazz neck-pickup. The pickups have one volume control each. I would like to have one balance pot and one master volume pot. I have bought three pots (one extra for tone control). But where do I start and what do I do?

I have to take this really from the beginning: The pots have three pins each, there are two wires from each pickup (duh, of course). What do I do now? What wire from which pickup goes where and in what order? Please bear with me... :bag:

2. luknfur

luknfur

Jan 14, 2004
    DIXIE
    Go to Seymour Duncan, Dimarzio, (whoever) website and pull up their wiring diagrams and picked the set up you want. Just make sure you're looking at diagrams for your style pup (active or passive) with same number wires as your pup. Probably passive in your case. No doubt Fender sells pups so they probably have diagrams as well.

I could just tell you but you know the old learn to fish line. Plus you'll find answers to questions you don't even have yet.

I just wired up a set of Fender Lace Sensor jazz pups tonight that I thought had coil taps but they don't work that way so I need to have a look at the Fender site myself.

3. stuttleif

stuttleif

Dec 30, 2003
    Well, if you read my post you saw that I had already tried to look there. They all have lots of diagrams but not the diagram I'm looking for.

4. David Wilson

David Wilson Administrator Staff Member Administrator Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Lower Westchester, NY