Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Wish me luck.... please

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by James Hart, Sep 10, 2002.

1. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    toms_river.nj.us
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    OK... I'll bring everyone to speed as far as me an bass an bands first.

I started playing in 1980, almost made a living at it for a couple years in the NYC/NJ/Philly scenes in the early 90's. I moved 2 hours away from my 'homebase' and continued as a semi-pro (bar bands and studio jingle gigs). I got very feed up with musicians, owners, fans etc and sold off all my gear except a Yamaha 6-string Acoustic guitar in 97 and went on with life.

... a year later I bought a Hamer 5-string and a REAL crappy Yamaha combo from the 70's. Within 6 months the Hamer was in the closet and the Yamaha was out at the curb.

Last summer I volunteered to put a website together for a 20th reunion of my high school and got talking online with my old jammin buddies, dug out the Hamer and cleaned it up... went to the store and bought a little peavy practice amp and a set of DR Hibeams and haven't looked back.

Now the Luck wishing part:
    I'm just about healed from the broken foot/leg and was bored online so I started trolling a couple NJ musician classified sites. I answered 2 ads and one replied wanting more info about me. It turns out it's an origanal power trio in my age group with varied tastes and influences and they rehearse in a Garage studio in my development. They get together twice a week and want me to swing by tomorrow to jam! They are cool with me still being on crutches and said I can play thru the PA untill I pick up a new amp :) :cool: :D

2. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    Bah, you don't need luck... sounds like you've got all the experience you need. And if they piss you off, gimp-slap them with a crutch. :)