Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

With TI Jazz FLats, Will Neck Need Adjustment?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by mickeyw3340, Mar 2, 2004.

1. I knew up front before ordering the TI Jazz FLats that they had lower tension than your run of the mill music store roundwounds.
    Question?
    Not being a guitar mechanic, I'm wondering if the lower tension is going to have any effect on the neck? Seems to me less tension, might mean some rod adjustment. If so it might do for me to let the local store put them on. They have some excellent guitar guys there.
    Also...
    Being a church player, would you recommend not changing to the TIs just before a service, without having some wood shed time to get used to them. I play with a light touch anyway.
    (I've never comprehended how a player can break a bass string while playing. If you need to be louder, turn the knob!)

2. The lower tension strings probably will require a trussrod adjustment, but I wouldnt let it put you off, its really quite easy to adjust the trussrod (on all the basses I've owned)

3. Sundogue

Sundogue

Apr 26, 2001
    Wausau, WI
    Personally I would not change string right before a practice or a gig. While stretching them as you put them on does help...it's only after some playing time that they will truly settle in.

I just ordered a set of TI Jazz Flats myself. From what I've read they are quite bright at first, but take some time to settle down. I would make the string change as long before your next gig as possible. If not, wait until after the gig.

4. tww001

tww001

Aug 13, 2003
    Telford, PA
    i just put a pair of TIs on my fretless fender jazz last night (first time i changed the strings) I love the tone...the feel is a bit different though. much less tension, and they're much thinner than the stock fenders. I do like them a lot though.