1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Wohooo! Got me a P Bass off CL! (lots of pics... and lots of text)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by PCR, Apr 12, 2010.

1. PCR

PCR

Apr 11, 2008
    I'm new to this whole bass thing. I started playing guitar in 1979 (yeah, I'm old). Took a few (+20) years off, and have recently (4 yrs ago) started playing again.

Last fall, I picked up a perfect condition Squire MB-40 off CL for $75. I haven't put the thing down since I got it. I've been playing bass at jams with a couple friends. Playing bass is so much fun, I don't why I didn't start playing the bass 30 yrs ago.

The Ad ==========================
    Last Thurs I saw a CL ad for "Fender P Bass $300". The ad basically said, Need to sell ASAP, no strings on the bass.

4516181813_87f0abf504_o. 4516181821_e25d86f4f5_o. 4516817232_bdef4b9061_o. 4516817254_7594cba69c_o.

The pics looked okay, so I figured I would offer $200 and see what happens. I figured as long as the neck was straight, for $200, if the thing was a complete train wreck, I could still sell the neck for $200. Long story, short: On Friday during my lunch break, I met the guy at his place of work and exchanged $200 for the bass. He said he hadn't picked the thing up since college +10 yrs ago.

The Assessment ==========================
    When I get the bass home, I noticed that the gig bag is soo old and worn out that the nylon is thread bear and basically dry rotted. The bass was sooo filthy it has a layer of funk on it like spring patio funiture after a winter of neglect.

ALL the metal, including screws, were either tarnished or corroded. The frets and fret board felt...funky.

I plug the bass into an amp and tapped the pickups with a screwdriver. It thumped okay, but the vol pot feel scratchy, but didn't sound scratch through the amp.