1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

wood

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by GODSBASSMAN, Oct 2, 2009.

1. GODSBASSMAN

GODSBASSMAN

Feb 2, 2005
    S. Carolina
    Any problem/concerns in using Bloodwood for a body?

2. wizay

wizay

Mar 5, 2008
    Norway
    Im not an expert but i have seen posts here saying that bloodwood is a quite heavy wood

3. Gone

Gone

Mar 21, 2006
    Cape Town
    Jayda custom basses, builder
    +1

It'll probably be too heavy, but you could maybe chamber it

4. tdogg

tdogg

Jan 17, 2001
    Brooklyn Park, MN
    heavy and hard. its similar to purpleheart ( hardness and density) isnt it? there was a guy on here who made a bass almost completely out of purpleheart and he didnt seem very thrilled when he had to shape the body.

5. mikeyswood

mikeyswood Banned

Jul 22, 2007
    Cincinnati OH
    Luthier of Michael Wayne Instruments
    A great wood to work, but if you do not have your tools sharp be prepared for tear-out.

Is a Bloodwood top an option?

6. tjclem

tjclem Supporting Member Commercial User

Jun 6, 2004
    Central Florida
    Owner and builder Clementbass
    :eek: I thought you liked light basses? :D

7. Lonnybass

Lonnybass

Jul 19, 2000
    San Diego
    Endorsing Artist: Pedulla Basses
    I just milled two fingerboards out of bloodwood...looks great, and is literally twice the weight of the maple fingerboards that I have in inventory. That stuff is heavy, no lie.

Lonnybass

8. tjclem

tjclem Supporting Member Commercial User

Jun 6, 2004
    Central Florida
    Owner and builder Clementbass
    great for fingerboards I love the stuff.......t

9. Dream Weaver

Dream Weaver

Jul 11, 2009
    OH
    As they already said... HEAVY stuff to say the least. I think as a laminate top it wouldn't be so bad, but a solid body would be rather cumbersome.