Wooden binding.

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by TribalisticBass, Jul 18, 2005.

1. Can you use wood as binding after you put on the top? Like on an explorer body type (or LP). Was kinda wanting to build an explorer with slightly smaller body than most. Another question, I was wanting to know some of the bassier/mellow tone woods. I want to hollow out some of the body to make it semi hollow, so the woods would also have to be pretty sturdy. I haven't decided on a top, and will probably buy a fretless neck from warmoth. Not sure how long it will take for me to work this bass out, it will be my first. Never built a bass but figure it will cost more than buying.
  2. Also is there a templet for a semi-hollow explorer? If not how much wood should be taken out for the chambers that will be created? Sorry for so many questions, this is my first attempt.
  3. Bass Kahuna

Bass Kahuna

Dec 3, 2002
    West Lafayette, Indiana
    Luthier, Custom Builder
    Yes, actually, the binding always goes on after the top. There are special router bits for doing binding that are available from places like StewMac and are used in a dremel style tool.

As far as body chambers, there is no real hard and fast rule that I have seen for a semi-hollow electric bass (or guitar). I would recommend keeping it solid through the center where the neck, pickups, and bridge all need to be anchored, and would only apply hollow chambers to the wings. Also consider things like where the strap anchors will go, hardware, electronics, etc.
  4. Rodent

Rodent Supporting Member Commercial User

Dec 20, 2004
    Upper Left Corner (Seattle)
    Player-Builder-Founder: Regenerate Guitar Works