Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Wooten - Howe - Chambers - new CD

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Mike Flynn, May 5, 2004.

1. Sorry if this has already been covered here in recent weeks - I'm still a bit of a newbie - but I am ashamed to say I downloaded most of the 'Extraction' CD as the imported version costs £20 ($40) and I already have a zillion power-trio CDs (I'm a Tribal Tech nut) and I just wanted to give VW some more props for another outstanding low end set. Howe is a bit of a noddle monster, but there's one lovely acoustic piece he plays that is just gorgeous.

One thing I have noticed with Wooten's EQ is that he seems to use a lot of compression but also gets a great fingerstyle sound that seems to be a the perfect blend of bridge and neck pickup. One of the other things I love that he's been doing more of is playing fretless 5 to get some lovely low end stuff happening - check out the last Flecktones album for that too - as well as the last track on VTT 2.

Overall though this album doens't have the same raw live feel that the Henderson/Smith trio - when's the studio set from VW due anyway? It's about time we got an update - the only thing I know is (when I met him) about three years back he said there was going to be some hip-hop stuff on there and some serious blowing as Yin Yang was about grooves first and solos second - whatever dude, just release the damn thing!

2. zombywoof5050

zombywoof5050

Dec 20, 2001
    Ha!
    I posted about this almost four months ago, and didn't get a single reply. Some very tasty playing by Victor.
    And the reason it may not have a raw live feel is because each part was added on separately (they sent the tapes to each other in the mail).

3. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001