Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Working for Guitar Center or Sam Ash?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by IvanMike, Dec 21, 2004.

1. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    As some of you may know, I'm in need of a temporary job, (or 7). I generally only shop at a few non-chain stores. But we do have a GC and Sam Ash here. I'm just looking for input of past or present employees in terms of pay, benifits, and anything to look out for or consider. I'm really not a salesperson, but I know gear and like to talk about it. One thing that is bothering me is the idea of having to sell items that i know are complete crap. I can't see myself feeling very good doing that. :meh:

2. Unfortunately, I have no experience working at either...but I hope this helps:

You would really be filling a need. Some people WANT to buy the crap. No amount of discussion will talk them out of it. They need someone to sell it to them. It may as well be you.

I know it's not the perfect job, but think of all the guys/girls going in there that will be asking someone that might actually be able to help. Why don't you shop at big chains? probably because of the crappy service, uninformed sales staff and lack of persoanl attention. Wouldn't it be nice to know that you stood out in the crowd?

Just trying to show the other side.

Mike

3. NV43345

NV43345

Apr 1, 2003
    I have been a salesman for 25 years and I can tell you this.

People buy from people they like.
    Be a good listener and do not interupt people.
    It is easy to sell,sales is desire.
    It is easy to talk to customers just by asking a few questions
    you can get them talking to you.
    What instrument do you play ?
    Who is your favorite player ?
    etc etc.
    Do not worry about selling crap.The store's all have return