Working out and playing?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Evan R, Jan 26, 2006.

1. Evan R

Evan R

Jan 25, 2006
    Hi everyone! Wondering if anyone out htere has been in my situation. Are these two things mutually exclusive?

I've been incorporating lifting 10 lb dumbbells into my exercise regime, and lots of push ups. At the same time, I have been, I realize now, pushing myself too hard when practicing -- I've been practicing seriously for two years -- and now my elbow and shoulder hurt when I practice.

Obviously I'm cutting out any upper-body work until this thing blows over, as well as reformatting my practicing routine. But I don't want to rule out strength training completely... but it's clear that lifting weight was making my arms stiff and inflexible.. the exact opposite of what I spend my time practicing to accomplish!!

perhaps if I just don't push like the other guys at the gym, but slowly (very) build up over a couple of years, starting only with push ups, it could be feasible? Any suggestions would be great. It was easy for me to be ignorant of the fact that we are athletes on a micro-level, now I am learning the "challenging" way!!

cheers, Evan
  2. guy n. cognito

guy n. cognito Secret Agent Member Gold Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2005
    Nashville, TN
    Weight lifting, especially at the level you're talking about, does NOT make you stiff and inflexible. You are probably sore from starting a new workout routine. Lay off for a few DAYS, then go back to it.
  3. Just don't play bass the same days you work-out. Try some stretching too, it will probably make your muscles more flexible
  4. I work out and play on the same day, but I play in the early morning (5:30 or 6:00 - 7:00 AM), but I work out in the evening.