Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Working?

Discussion in 'Music [DB]' started by Michael Case, Jun 9, 2002.

1. Hello,
    I have been playing DB for two years now, and trying to learn Jazz for about 4. I used to work on my electric with chord/scale theory, Abersold play-a-longs, and transcribing. The problem I am facing is this, although I have a fairly decent understanding of the things that make up jazz bass playing I have a very difficult time making it happen on the DB. I spent a year and a half studying with Ed's teacher (and made alot of progress) but I felt there was still something missing. I feel like I don't have a BASIC understanding of the DB yet and have started studying with a teacher that has me working with Simandl and things like that. of course i will hound him to help me with jazz stuff too.

Anyway, my question is this. Am I on the right track? Will this stuff help me? I feel my intonation has gotten better, and I am feeling a little more comfortable on the bass and can listen to other the other players in my group a little better.

My second question is, what questions should I ask my teacher concerning jazz improv. and what work should I do on my own in this situation? I am functional, I can walk well, hear my place in tune, and on a few actually play a decent solo. This has been the result of a six months of being completely lost whenever I played with people, but thanks to a few great players/people I have come this far, but I know there is more work. The reason I ask is this, if left to my own devices I will work on EVERYTHING completely unfocused :confused: and feel like I'm going no where.

Thanks for your time, sorry for the long post.
    Mike

2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    MOOSE THE MOOCH,