Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

worried about wrist pain (RH)

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by core, Aug 18, 2005.

1. core

core

Aug 4, 2005
    I've been playing bass for a couple years and recently, I've developed a sore right wrist and I'm wondering if anyone else has run into this situation.

My right hand is my plucking hand. I rest my thumb on the pickup and play fingerstyle using two fingers and occasionally add in my ring finger. The past few weeks, I've often been playing while sitting down and in this position, my right arm is almost parallel with the ground so my wrist is almost at a right angle, with my fingers pointing down to the ground.

My wrist does not hurt while I play, regardless of how long I play. But when I stop playing and un-flex my wrist, it is usually sore for a little while afterwards. During normal activities (using computer, eating, driving...), it usually does not hurt except for when I do something that makes me have to push my wrist back (like the way your hand would be positioned when you do push ups, at a 90 degree angle to your arm, palm outward.).

Any one else have any clue what I'm talking about? Heh...hopefully I'm just a hypochondriac, but I didn't want to let this go if it was actually an important thing! :D

ps if this should be in misc, feel free to move it...I couldn't decide where it was supposed to go, but I saw similar threads in Technique... -.-

2. thewanderer24

thewanderer24

Apr 29, 2002
    SJ, CA
    This is a common problem. I think most people who have played any length of time have dealt with something like this.

Don't ignore the pain. It definitely could be technique related, and can definitely get worse with time.

It's hard to diagnose without seeing your playing style. I would suggest finding a teacher that can help you with this.