1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Worship musicians: Do you get paid?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Axtman, Dec 21, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Axtman

Axtman Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2008
    Seattle, Washington
    Just curious, how many worship musicians get paid for playing at church?

2. Energy

Energy

Jun 20, 2006
    Germany
    I'm not a pro, just a hobbyist. Making music for God is just what I LOVE to do.

3. Jhengsman

Jhengsman

Oct 17, 2007
    Los Angeles, CA
    Most of us don't, the average church size in America is maybe 100 donating members. When you get to medium/large churches there might be a couple of paid musicians on staff supported by volunteers. Then up to the megachurches with a touring band to promote their recordings along with those staying at the home church with other leaders/frontmen being working pros

hrodbert696 and zontar like this.
  4. SteveC

SteveC Moderator Staff Member

Nov 12, 2004
    North Dakota
    I have been playing for about 10 years. We started getting paid this year. Council felt that since the organist an choir director and others associated with the traditional service were paid that we should be as well. They also wanted to get a more consistent worship band/team and thought being paid would help. We went back and forth for a while as most of us didn't really want to be paid, and we can still choose not to sign in for payment, but in the end I think most of us take it. It is nice that we are employees, not independent contractors so we get W2's instead of 1099 which makes it a little better at tax time.

We receive $75 a Sunday. That's about 45 minutes of practice/run through before worship and two 1 hour services. Basically 8 - noon. I generally play 3 Sundays a month. It makes the payment for my wife's car so it's nice I guess.

Gopherbassist and fclefgeoff like this.
  5. Rudreax