Worst bass you ever had

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bassinyourface, Mar 3, 2003.

1. I'm a newbie and read a thread about worst basses, I thought it might be cool to bring it up again (hope you all think so too).
    The worst bass I ever had was a Kramer copy of a Rickenbacker 2001. I bought it because it looked like Geddy Lee's and it was cheap ($175). The thing was horrible! The intonation was off so bad the 12th fret was off a half step and the A string buzzed. I took it in at least 5 times and had the truss rod adjusted and even spent $45 on a Badass bridge and that still didn't fix it. I ended up giving it away to some guy I met when I was stationed at Ft. Campbell in the Army and bought a 1969 Gibson EBO (nice bass).
    Any other horror stories?
  2. Davehenning

Aug 9, 2001
    Los Angeles
    I had a Memphis P-Bass copy. The action must have been a mile off of the fingerboard. I could not believe that someone would waste such perfectly good firewood to build that Memphis.

3. Just to let everyone know, I'm not slamming Kramer, this was one bass I bought from a pawn shop. Kramer makes very nice instruments.
  4. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

A metal flake Norma around 1970, (Swedish, I think).

I don't know which was worse about it - the sheer lack of playability ( its neck like a 1000 year-old Sequoia) or its pickups that sounded like someone being suffocated by a down pillow.

The only thing worse was a Sears Silvertone I tried to make into a bass. But that was actually a guitar........or, at least, that's what they called it. :rolleyes:
  5. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    70's short scale Harmony :rolleyes:

finger board felt like it had a negative radius and the action was about 3/4 of an inch at the 12th fret