1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Would an Ibanez SR506 be a good choice if....

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by DT_Fan86, Apr 15, 2006.

1. DT_Fan86

DT_Fan86

Feb 19, 2006
    ...I were to play in the style of John Myung? I would buy his signature bass (Yamah RBXJM2) but those are too expensive for me so I'm looking for a more affordable one.

2. DT_Fan86

DT_Fan86

Feb 19, 2006
    Sorry for the double post. I'm new to this thread.

3. lamborghini98

lamborghini98 The Aristocrats

May 1, 2005
    NYC; Portland, OR
    Well.. at least you corrected your grammar in this post : )

IMO, yes..ish. He has a pretty middy sound, and you can def get that kind of tone out of that bass. For the money, theres probably not much better. Besides, Ibanez basses rock.

4. DT_Fan86

DT_Fan86

Feb 19, 2006
    I won't worry about tone too much. It's mostly a warm tone, but I'm just worried about how my hands will feel. Especially when your longest finger is almost exactly 3 inches.

5. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    I feel it'll do you fine. It's a bit on the narrow side, but IIRC, so is the Myung.

6. steve21

steve21 Banned

My longest finger's also just a bit over 3 inches (is that good or bad? Meh) and I can reach all around the 506 with SUPER ease.

24th fret on the B string? No problem.

It's a great bass.

7. Whacked

Whacked

Sep 21, 2004
    Stockton, Ca
    Ive heard of measuring other appendages, never fingers :)

8. Petary791

Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    Another Dream Theater/John Myung fan!!!!!!!

9. DT_Fan86

DT_Fan86

Feb 19, 2006
    Yeah, there aren't too many fans in my area.

10. It has small spacing even for a sixer, so yes it will be good for you small hands.

lowsound

11. DT_Fan86

DT_Fan86

Feb 19, 2006
    Well that's a good thing!