Would like info about my bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Mike Carr, Apr 21, 2002.

1. Mike Carr

Mike Carr

Feb 5, 2002
    Hong Kong
    I've been enjoying this board for several months now and have only recently began posting. I'm always interested in anything concerning double bass, this seems to be "the place" for that. Some of you are quite entertaining as well!
    My question is this, I own, play and love a carved top german bass. I got it from my first double bass teacher here in California and he doesn't know much about it's history. What he could tell me is that he got it from T.V. evangelist Robert Shuller's Crystal Chathederal, it was sitting unused and a storage closet, apparently it had been donated by a former parishioner many years ago for use in their music ministry. Now, years later they employ a pretty good sized orchestra, ironicly, it's one of the few weekly T.V. gigs left in town, Barry Cogert, my friend and former teacher plays in it and he was able to get the bass in exchange for a "donation", the dollar value unknown to me.
    It's a good sounding and well set-up bass that I use mostly for jazz, right now it's wearing orchesteral Spriocores and a Realist, sometimes a KK Bass Max too.
    The top is carved, the back and sides are plywood, the back and sides sport a nice "flame" detail, as does the neck. The neck is finished with a glossy subtance, that I've gotten used to dealing with. It might be a bit sticky, but boy does it shine, in fact the overall look of the bass could be described as "shinny"!
    The label reads, Georg Anton Schuster
    Wien Anno 1788
    Made in Germany
    An ink stamped serial # reads 1113
    I don't read German but I can't imagine that this bass was made in 1788. More like 1948 I suppose.