Would someone recommend a headphone amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by The Noof, Jun 22, 2022.

1. The Noof

The Noof

Jun 11, 2022
    Maryland
    Would someone recommend a headphone amp? I am a beginner, so right now I don't want to spend a bunch of money. Just would something that isn't crap.

Thanks,
    Brad

2. Little Rock

Little Rock Supporting Member

Aug 23, 2015
    Montreal, Canada
    I have a Zoom B1on snd love it.

3. Cafe Walter if you can find one as I'm not sure they are made currently. When they are up for sale it doesn't last long...

kalanb likes this.
  4. flatrat

flatrat

Jul 8, 2017
    I like the Vox amPlug2. Some people here have issues with it. I've used it regularly for 6 years or so.

Jeff Hughes and Yonni like this.
  5. J Wilson

J Wilson

Apr 22, 2022
    An Undisclosed Location
    none
    Any small Yamaha or Mackie mixer is FAR more useful than most 'headphone amps' by a mile, and the small ones can usually be had for around a 100 bucks or less.

6. iRig has been my go-to for years.

I think they're still around $35. I'm a Mac user and like the iRig for play-along practice, learning songs and some recording using GarageBand for amp models. I've used it some with phone/tablet for some online group recording stuff.

7. Killing Floor

Killing Floor Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2020
    Austin, TX
    Fender Mustang Micro is Great. Sounds good, charge lasts a long time. Tons of models. Effects. I use mine on bass and guitar. I’d buy it again.

Paco Leon and Paradilum like this.
  8. Paradilum

Paradilum Supporting Member

May 7, 2021
    Virginia
    Second this!

Killing Floor likes this.
  9. skygzr

skygzr

Feb 23, 2015
    Southeast US
    I’ve been using a Zoom B3 for years. Tons of preamps, effects and cabinets, plus a drum machine, tuner and looper. It runs for months on 4 AA rechargeable batteries. I’m sure there’s many other good options out there. We live in a golden age of affordable microelectronics!