Would this be a waste?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Fletch, Jul 18, 2004.

1. Like so many here I've decided I want to make myself a bass. I have no experience so I figured I'd start slow. I decided that I could learn a few things by modding some of my cheapo basses. First up an olp mm3 natural finnish. The idea,I want to put a j pu in the neck,maybe a preamp too. Could/should this be done?
  2. I really like your approach. Probably because that's just how I began my dance with the discipline ;)

This method of learning the ropes is actually called "reverse engineering". It's one of the ways the Japanese kicked our butts with inexpensive electronic stuff years ago by disassembling our stuff to learn how it worked, then improving on it. You get to see how decently assembled instruments go together while adding your own treatment and trying to make it match the tolerances and style. At the same time, you get proficient at the setup side of luthiery and that will help when you start to crack your own nut - actually not as painful as it sounds :D

These basses don't have much new value hence not much resale value in any condition. Adding, swapping, or tweaking components can only make the bass a better player and learning to hear and feel the difference you can make is enormously valuable.

That last part of tweaking is an important one. A lot of guys don't seem to realize that the original components on the bass are often decent but need attention to work at their best. This goes beyond the simple adjustments of a routine setup. It could be improving the slot depths in a nut, shielding the control cavity, or my personal fave - installation of steel inserts in the neck. Lots to learn here also.

Good Luck and check back often
  3. emor

May 16, 2004
    Sounds like we're at about the same place.
    I want to build my first bass in the coming months, and just bought this one a couple of weeks ago to mess around with.