1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Would this Ricky clone project be too much work tom complete?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Rat Blitz, Apr 11, 2009.

1. It's a worthwhile project and parts will not be that difficult to find.

31 vote(s)
    79.5%
  2. Are you crazy? Buy a real Ricky!

8 vote(s)
    20.5%
  1. Rat Blitz

Rat Blitz

Jan 6, 2009
    I'm considering trying to rebuild this Bradley Ricky clone but I'm unsure as it would be worth the effort since I've never done a project like this before.
    What you see is basically what there is to work worth.
    I would need to find pickups, electronics, truss rod cover, pickguard and who knows what else to finish the project.
    The bass itself looks in pretty good shape (with double truss rod).
    Do you folks think it would be difficult to get the right parts to finish the job (or not worth the effort and the cash outlay?).

project2.
    project.
    project4.
    project3.
    project5.
    project6.

2. My vote, sell it to me!

3. Decent Ric clones tend to sell for decent cash as long as the Rickenbacker company doesn't find and shut down the sale. With that in mind I wold say that it would be a worthwhile investment to build it up with the right parts.

4. experimental bassist

experimental bassist

Mar 15, 2009
    Waste of money. Better just send that bass project to me to avoid future temptation. :)

Naw, I'm kidding. A pair of Seymour Duncan Ric P'ups, Hipshot bridge, good shielding in the control cavity for starters.

Go for it, at least that's what I would do. :bassist:

5. Snakeman1066

Snakeman1066 Supporting Member

Sep 17, 2007
    Central Valley
    if it were mine i would spend the time and money to fix it....