Would this work...?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Grahams Groove, Jul 11, 2001.

1. Is there any possible way to do this? I am running a nemesis 2x10 combo and using a mesa 4x10 as an ext cab from the combo. Is there anyway to add a power amp into the "equation" so that the amp in the 2x10 combo is powering just the 2x10's in that combo, and the power amp is powering the 4x10? And is there a way to do that and still use the EQ of the 2x10 combo??

Thanks Graham.
  2. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC
    There ought to be, though I'm not an expert on that particular combo. If it has a line out (not a speaker or amp out), which it should, take that into a power amp (not an intrument head, which contains a preamp, but just a power amp) and use that amp to power the 4-10.
  3. oh, my 2x10 combo has these "jacks" on the back. A tuner jack, an FX loop, ext. speaker out, and a post EQ line out for recording or going direct to PA....that type of thing....

Now, is there any way to do that?
  4. Run a cable from the line out of the combo into a power amplifier's input jack. Connect the Mesa to the power amplifier's speaker jacks.
  5. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC
    Use the post-EQ line out. Take that to the in of your external power amp.

If you're doing this in a situation where you might simultaneously need to use that line out for recording/PA, do this:

Go from the line out to a direct box. If the box has a switch for line vs. instrument signal, set it to line. Take the XLR output of the DI to the recording or PA mixer, then take the 1/4" output of the DI to your external power amp.

But if you're just playing the amp and don't have to hook into anything else, do what I said first. It's simple, right?
  6. yep...simple as pie.