1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

would you bootleg a concert?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Guest043, Sep 17, 2008.

1. Guest043

Guest043 Guest

Apr 8, 2008
    i just thought of this because of the threads about pocket/portable digital recorders..

would you use such a device to record any given concert? would you say its not right to do so?

i personally intend to record just about any show i go to, but do NOT intend to sell/profit from it..

if someone was recording my concerts (that i was not recording myself) i dont think id have any problem with it being passed around for free. would you?

2. hbarcat

hbarcat Supporting Member

Aug 24, 2006
    Rochelle, Illinois
    Would I????

I've been doing it for 20 years.

3. MakiSupaStar

MakiSupaStar The Lowdown Diggler

Apr 12, 2006
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Most of the shows I go to have a seperate section for Tapers. They allow fans to record and distribute their shows. As long as it's not for profit, it's a great marketing tool for them. Bands like the Grateful Dead and the Allman Bros laid the groundwork for bands like Phish, String Cheese Incident, and Yonder Mountain String Band. So, not only would I do it, but I'd gladly trade it with others for some of their stash.

Check out the "stash" section of http://www.nugs.net.

4. Guest043

Guest043 Guest

Apr 8, 2008
    glad to see its something that is smiled upon..

this site got me into the idea-

www.jazzfusion.tv

tons of weather report/jaco, among other great stuff.

5. Visirale

Visirale

Mar 23, 2003
    Orlando
    I love bootlegs, but like them the best when they are from the board.

That being said, when I go to a concert, I just wanna chill and watch the band. Don't really want to be worrying after a recorder.

6. LowBSix

LowBSix Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 25, 2008
    818 ~ 805 ~ L.A.