Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Would you call? (minor rant inside)

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Matthew Bryson, Apr 1, 2004.

1. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    I'm pretty new to bass, but not too new - aprox 3 years and I've yet to join a band. That's all that I really want at this point. So I saw an ad and responded, met a guy for a beer and a chat, and got a CD of his stuff from him. We seemed to get along and had some similar goals. I learned his songs - I wrote bass lines for them and practiced them. We played together one time and he seemed somewhat impressed with my playing and how his tunes sounded with bass (as opposed to him alone) At his request I showed him some of my (original) stuff and he jammed along and said he was digging it. When we were done he asked if I'd like to stay and have another smoke with him, we hung out and had a last cig and discussed what cover tunes we wanted to add for our next jam together and agreed to material to work on for the next jam. We agreed to play together again in a week, although he was to double check his schedule and he'd be in touch to confirm. I sent him an email the next day simply thanking him for having me over to his home and said that I'd enjoyed our jam… He responded saying that he had a good time too and also, that regrettably he was to work over-time for the next two weeks, so he scheduled a date 2 and a 1/2 weeks out. I sent him another message a few days before the date that had been set, just to confirm. A couple day later (but before the scheduled day) he responded saying that he'd been out of town and would have to leave town again for about another week. I sent yet another message a few days after he was to have returned. He responded saying that yes, he was back and should have some time to jam soon - he'd be in touch to set a date. After