1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Would you comment on my practice schedule?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Redleader, Aug 30, 2008.

1. Hi there. I wanted to get some opinions on my idea of "practice". I first started with a really solid practice routine (because I had school, it was a really simple schedule :smug:). But then, I stopped. I don't know why; maybe just thought "this much speed/technique" is enough.. I studied no theory; just 1-2-3-4;1-2-4-3-like finger patterns.

But recently, I had a revelation :eek: (through some of the interviews and biographies I read); if I wanted to play seriously, I really needed to improve EVERYTHING.. So, I came up with a schedule of my own:

15 Minutes of Scale Excercises (Up and Down, and modes)
    ?? minutes of 1-2-3-4-like excercises (speed is important a little ;))
    15 Minutes of Slap (I can slap, but not very fast.. so I plan to both play some slap songs and some finger-style songs with slap..)
    30 Minutes Rhytm (from the Berkeley book "Contemporary Bass Rhytms")

Then 45 Minutes of Theory (mainly from Ricci Adams' site, with maybe a few scraps from some books..)
    and 15 minutes of sight-reading exceercises (both treble and bass)

So, What do you think? I probably can't work with a 8-hour long practice session :) but any other ideas to improve is really appreciated. Thanks in advance..

2. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    That looks pretty good. Make sure you're not just learning your scales from root to root - learn them the entire range of your bass.

3. Scot

Scot

Mar 20, 2004
    Pacifica, CA, USA