Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Wow......this is cool...

Discussion in 'Off Topic [DB]' started by davegr8house, Aug 19, 2001.

1. Wow, where to start.I just wanted to tell you guys and gals about my day.I am new here but I had to share with you about my first time to preform with the URB. I have been playing electric for going on 14 years but the URB for less than a year.I play with a rock-n type praise and worship team in Nashville,TN and today I played double bass on a couple of songs. Half way thru the first song I noticed something.......my leg was shaking.....I havent been nurvous about playing in years and years and my leg is shaking. I loved it. For those few short moments of my life I felt so .........alive. I know this may sound cheesy but I can`t wait to do it more. I got so many complaments and everybody kept asking all about the double bass. The rest of the band was impressed and they want to work a few more songs around it. I said all this to say thanks for the all the information you all have posted. It has helped greatly. Now I`m not about to put away the electric but I have a whole new respect and love for the upright. Thanks again and keep up the Threads. Trust me, your knowhow and willingness to share it is helping newbies like me everyday. THANKS.....
    David

2. Cool...Just wait till' you play in a 400 seat theatre (with no amplification or mics with a 23 piece swing band) and people from the back of the room compliment how well the bass sounded. That has been my biggest woody of the year.

May we ALL remain blessed with exitement for the DB in our years to come...