Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Wrist...problems?

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by Melf, Jan 6, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Melf

Melf

Mar 20, 2003
    Starkville, MS
    I think I may be having wrist problems. When I played bass regularly a year ago, my wrists would feel fine while I was playing, but within 2-24 hours of me playing, I would get an odd burning sensation in a certain area. Palms up, the bottom and inside of both of my wrists would hurt. I could practice 30 minutes or two hours and the sensation would be there. It wouldn't matter if I took off two days or two weeks; whenever I played again that familiar burning would be there. I eventually gave up bass for many reasons, including that one.

I recently started learning guitar, since I have a huge desire to produce music and I thought that perhaps the bass was just too large for my hands and that was why they were hurting. Well, for the past week I've been getting that damn sensation again when I wake up in the morning (I usually practice right before I go to bed). Even worse, I have a guitar teacher(a virtuoso who's been playing longer than I've been alive) and he tells me that my technique is very good and there's no way I should be hurting my wrist! Rock climbing, 3+ hours of computer gaming and writing 20+ page papers don't do a thing to my wrists, but whenever I pick up a guitar, they burn. This is incredibly frustrating to me because I can't figure out what's wrong. I would really appreciate any input you have.

2. mheintz

mheintz

Nov 18, 2004
    From what you describe, it sounds like inflammation of the tendons running through the carpal tunnel. Not necessarily carpal tunnel syndrome... yet. Here are some tips from a long time sufferer: