Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

writing bass parts for existing songs

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by frankosaurus, May 8, 2004.

1. frankosaurus

frankosaurus

Feb 27, 2002
    San Jose
    hi, I've been playing bass for like 8 years and I just got a cool new opportunity. A band who heard me play asked me to write and record bass tracks for their album... which is due for release in 4 months!

The deal is, they've recorded all the guitars, drums, vocals, and keys. Actually, their old bassist recorded parts, but I haven't heard those tracks-- they want me to come up with new parts independent of what the last bassist did. I'm hearing the music for the first time now, and I'm trying to find ideas.

I've started by transcribing the songs and jamming along with the recordings. I guess I'm trying to find lines that are not too complicated but at the same time interesting. Also, I realize that a strong bass part can really change the entire feel of a song, so I'm a little nervous about drifting too far from their original concept.

I guess this is an open-ended question, but I wonder if anyone has advice for my situation. thanks
    --Frank

2. oof... i don't know why, but i hate that situation. i either want parts written before i get there, or writing the song with the band at the beginning of the creative process.

lots of communication with the other folks, make sure you understand what kind of feel they want. make sure you don't step on anyones toes. sometimes guitar & keyboard players can be really proud of a part and they want it to shine.