Writing good basslines?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Masterbasser71, Jan 26, 2006.

1. :help: Yeah yeah, I know, you gotta have rhythm to be a bassist, if not you're a percussionist. I've been accused by my jam band that I just do 8th notes and 16th notes, and that I always double up on what my guitarists are playing. What do I learn to keep them from getting frustrated at me? Oh they're 21 and I'm 17, so its kinda stressful for me. Help? How do I improve my basslines? I've been playing for 3 years, should I be cranking out basslines like sweat? Are they expecting too much? :rolleyes: Oh the joys of being a bassist in two bands. :hyper:
  2. sb69coupe

Aug 9, 2004
    Raleigh NC
    When you speak of "good basslines" what exactly do you mean? To give us a good idea of where you are as a bassist, tell us what kind of lines you are playng now. You mention that you are playing 8ths or 16ths, but are you just holding down the root, or are you playing over the chords by moving off the root and through the other notes in the chords?
  3. ToR-Tu-Ra

Oct 15, 2005
    Mexico City
    Hmmm... I'd say it all depends.

If you're playing punk rock, you most likely NEED to play only roots, eights and/or sixteenths the whole tune.

Another thing, maybe those wise guitarrists ain't that wise and they're not giving you enough space and that's why you end up doubling their playing.

Some recordings of your basslines would be usefull to know what's going on.
  4. Kroy

Jan 19, 2006
    Not if you're Matt Freeman of Rancid.
  5. ToR-Tu-Ra

Oct 15, 2005
    Mexico City
    You got a point there. Matt kicks a$$!!! I don't consider rancid to be straight punk rock, tho. It's got more stuff thrown into, like ska, hardcore and even some jazzy stuff in the way Matt plays. When I said punk rock I's thinking about the earlier stuff, pre '85.