Writing killer basslines

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Joe Nerve, Jul 28, 2005.

1. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    Gotta start with the disclaimer that if you don't know me, I'm not a newbie and I've probably written 1000s of basslines in my time. Feel I just want to kick this subject around because of a project that's been thrown my way. I've been asked to lay down the bass for a female teen pop/punk singer with a crapload of potential and solid backing, and I've been given 8 songs with various mixes - some have drums, some don't, I think there may be bass on one or 2 of them. Anyhoo... I've got a good feeling about this particular job, and I feel it may open the door to lots of other opportunities, provided I shine - so I'd like your thoughts after I think out loud for a while here. Bear with me.

What I'd generally do in this situation is listen to the song and start playing the first thing that comes to mind. My instinct has done me well, and I often think first ideas are the best ideas. Not sure if that's true though. :) I also know I can come up with hooks that can really add to the song and make me stand out. But it ain't about me, it's about making her stand out, and I understand that. How did Jamerson become such a great studio guy?

I'm considering listening to the songs over and over in my car (without any bass) until the bass just starts singing to me, and I'm considering doing what I said above - just sitting down and doing what comes to mind first. Oh dear. I'll probably do anything and everything and keep doing stuff until I come up with simple parts and hooks I really like and then just show em everything I got when I get into the studio.

How do you approach this kind of thing?
  2. Correlli

Apr 2, 2004
    New Zealand
    I've done quiet a bit of this sorta thing.